Celebrating Magical Moments of Harry Potter
Celebrating Harry Potter
Shop now


Striking Standard

We understand that there are many considerations when grading a coin, and here at The Royal Mint we use the British descriptive coin grading scale. The grading evaluates certain factors such as sharpness, effigy definition, and general wear and tear, which ascertains the coin’s condition – ‘Fine’, ‘Very Fine’, ‘Extremely Fine’ and ‘Uncirculated’ – and helps determine the coin’s value and demand.



The Royal Mint Coin Striking Standard

The Royal Mint strikes coins to different standards; these include Proof, Brilliant Uncirculated, Bullion and Piedfort. If you’ve heard these terms being used but are unsure what they mean, read on to find out more about the differences between these coins.


Further Your Knowledge

As an aspiring coin collector, it’s important to acquaint yourself with the different standards to which coins are struck, as this will affect their price and subsequent value. As well as the circulating coins you find in your change, The Royal Mint strikes coins to three different standards for both investors and collectors: Proof, Brilliant Uncirculated and Bullion. Use the tool below to explore the different striking standards.


Feefo logo